Bookshelf Tag UPDATED

I’m reposting this tag with some updates because, in the span of less than 24 hours, it has developed that not all of my answers are entirely truthful! Gasp! Haha, let me explain.

Update 1: For answer #8, I state that I don’t technically have any autographed books. This is a lie, I tell you! Because I do indeed have a signed book, and that book is Ilimoskus: Times of Oldsigned by the ever-wonderful Jennifer K. Marsh herself. Well, sort-of signed. I have a piece of paper in the front cover that was signed by her, so close enough! One day, Jenny, I’ll attend a book signing of yours and get a good and true autograph from you :D

Update 2: In answer #3, I mention wanting to reread Unicorns of Balinor, but hadn’t been able to do so because I couldn’t get my hands on a copy of the book. Well lo and behold! My mom and I went book shopping today at this incredible store with floor to ceiling shelves crammed full of books, and stacks of books on the floor and on beams, and just books everywhere. So many books, you can’t believe it. And by a complete fluke, with some incredible stroke of luck, I spotted out of the corner of my eye a special edition 3-in-1 copy of the first three Unicorns of Balinor books! I have never seen a single copy in any store until just today. Right after I mention it. Bizarre, isn’t it? But I guess I can reread it after all, huzzah!

Updates over, here’s the original post.

***

Woo, here for another tag! This one I forgot about way back when I was tagged for it, hehe. Bad Alex, bad!

Back in August, Olivia on Often Clueless, Always Shoeless tagged me to answer a set of questions about books, and since I love me some good books, how could I refuse? And so, without further ado…

(I actually started writing this post in September… and I thought it was old back then, ha!)

1. Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry? Ummm…. I don’t think so… Lemme think… I don’t really have any sad books on my reading list, and certainly none I’ve been avoiding. So can I change the question to books that have already made me cry? Brave Story made me cry a bit, and I used to cry all the time reading Black Beauty as a kid. There aren’t too many books that get the waterworks going but I’ve certainly shed some tears for the end of series when I realize I’m not going to be reading about these characters anymore.

2. Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. I really enjoyed his steampunk series (but never read the last one… oops.) and the illustrations in the book are breathtaking! Oh, and another one is Fever Crumb by Philip Reeve. That was a very cool sci-fi, although I didn’t like second book as much.

3. Find a book that you want to reread. There are a lot… One series I really want to get my hands on again is Unicorns of Balinor by  Mary Stanton. I read those when I was a kid and they quickly became my favourite books in the whole world. They’re not quite my favourites anymore, but I’d love to be able to read them again since they were such an inspiration to my younger self.

4. Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t? Ooh, series? There are quite a few singular books I read and wished I hadn’t, but generally I don’t get far enough to hate a whole series… Well, I guess one example is the rest of the books in the Inkheart series. I loved the first one but really struggled through the other two. I wish I’d just left it at Inkheart and moved on with my life, because I was honestly quite satisfied with Inkheart on its own.

5. If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save? Seriously, I can only pick ONE?! Gods above… Well, I guess I could technically replace most of my books, but one that cannot be replaced ever in a million years is a reeeeally old collection of Tennyson’s poetry that my grandparents lent me. It is beautiful, the cover is elaborately decorated and embossed, the pages are perfectly yellowed with gold edges, there are beautiful ink illustrations on the inside… Here, I’ll just show you a picture.

IMG_2763

6. Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories? A lot of them… (These questions are hard!) I have a lot of fond memories though of Lionboy, by Zhizou Corder. This is another trilogy I read as a kid that I absolutely adored. I remember reading these books in class when I finished my work, and I remember this was where I first learned the word “latter” (I very distinctly remember asking my mom what it meant because I came across it in the first book).

7. Find a book that has inspired you the most. Ohhh, another tough question! I would have to say really any of the Dragonlance: The New Adventures books. I’ve already talked about Catriona’s impact on my life, but this series as a whole was what got me obsessed with the fantasy genre. I clearly remember writing the first version of my current story shortly after having picked up the Dragonlance series and I know that these books were crucial in the early development of my writing.

8. Do you have any autographed books? Not technically, no. The closest I have to books that are “signed” are books that have been given to me as gifts or books that had been given to other people that I picked up at a used book store. None that were well and truly autographed by their authors though.

9. Find the book that you have owned the longest. I’m not positive, but I have to guess The Mystery Hunters at the Haunted Lodge by Capwell Wyckoff. It’s an old book too, and my grandpa passed it down to me just as it was passed down to him. I remember reading this book with my mom before bed, just when I was really learning to read. I have a picture of this one too.

IMG_2764

10. Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy? Um… to be honest, I don’t typically pick up books I don’t think I’ll actually enjoy, haha, but sometimes my friends do convince me to read things I originally didn’t want to. Actually! Funny story! So I have mainstreamaphobia, where I basically avoid lots of mainstream things or else I get a rash (that’s not true, but that’s how I feel about it), and so I never read Harry Potter when I was younger because it was sooo mainstream (I’m rolling my eyes at myself too). But in grade seven my friend Lauren pushed me to read it, saying I was crazy to not have read it because I’d love it, so I read it and indeed loved it. I’m sure there have been more books she’s forced me to read that I ended up liking, but that was one of the most prominent ones. 

So those are some of the books on my shelves that I love so dearly. I tag Jenny, Airlia, and Partial Prudence. If you guys wanna give it a go, have fun with it :)

That’s all for me tonight. I shall be back tomorrow with something that isn’t a Q&A ;)

Take care everyone.

-Alex

4 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tag UPDATED

  1. What a gorgeous book cover of Tennyson’s indeed!
    But, er, Alex: I recall writing you a note to stick inside the cover of Times of Old. Technically, you have a signed book ;) aha

  2. Pingback: Bookshelf Tag: Do I really know my books? | LOQUACITÉ

Make a connection

