Ringing in the New Year

Well hello there! Can you believe it’s 2015 already? This whole past year feels like some strange dream and I don’t think I’m quite prepared for it to be over.

Then of course my body decided I would get a wicked cold to kick things off, ‘cause what better way to celebrate than by drowning in mucous and tears? Haha it’s actually somewhat subsided right now… I’m drinking hot chocolate and wearing my Perry the Platypus slippers so that helps ;)

Aaaanyways since it’s a new year, and since I haven’t been around very much this past week, I wanted to take the opportunity to catch up with everyone! I still need to go and read all the posts I’ve missed, but I shall get to that when I’m a little less groggy, promise.

Christmas

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, and really just a lovely holiday season in general. I’ve been fortunate enough to have the chance to meet up with friends and family these past couple weeks, and it’s been good to see all these beautiful people again. Honestly, half of the time while I was hanging out with them (especially those I haven’t seen in several months), I was just overwhelmed by how much I love them. Especially since I also spent the month riding at the barn again (and horse-sitting, yay!) and so I not only got the chance to really ride for the first time in months, but I also truly appreciated how much of a family our barn is. It’s amazing, how much everyone cares for one another.

While I unfortunately didn’t have the pleasure of spending Christmas with you guys, I hope you know that you honest to goodness are so important to me. There is such a strong community here on WordPress and you all truly honour me with your friendship <3

As well! If you were wondering at all about The Christmas Slug story, the inspiration for it came from real life. I was the daughter who discovered a slug hanging from our tree, and it was my mom who coined the phrase “the Christmas slug”. The rest of the story is more imaginative than realistic, but I was quite enamoured with that tiny little slug :)

Writing

As you heard, I did not make my writing goal this year. I’ve barely written anything else since that post, so yeah, I’m not going to finish it this year. Ohhhh well. Honestly… I am okay with it. I’m okay with not having finished it. It’s not the first time my progress has lulled, and though I wish it hadn’t, I understand that it’s just how I write. I hammer out some progress, and then I step back and rest, and then I get back at it again. So I’m resting right now, and then when I’m healthy and fit again I’ll go back to hammering out the progress. It’ll be done soon enough.

As for the post I wrote for you, I kept the names secret by shortening to initials. My characters are not quite ready for their time to shine and besides, I mostly just use their first initials when I’m editing anyways. But that was such a nice piece for me to write, because I just got to enjoy spending time with my characters, who have become like real people to me. Envisioning them sitting across the table, imagining their little habits—it makes me smile. One day you shall meet them. Ah K and T… what dorks :P

But for those of you who have supported my writing this year, both during NaNoWriMo and during my recent project—enormous hugs and thanks to you. Seriously. I am beyond honoured and grateful that you consider my words worthwhile, and I am insanely thankful that you keep supporting me even when times are rough. You’re awesome <3

The Old Year

Ah, 2014. The first part was rough, with all my university anxiety, but the months since have been so much better. I’ve had the chance to become a forest explorer, I managed to make two new friends, and I survived (and passed) all my courses! Hooray!

Besides that, though, this year has been a time of growth and learning.  I’ve come to know myself better in the past twelve months than the past twelve years, and it’s such a settling and empowering feeling to know that I understand. I know how to take care of myself and I know how to help myself grow even more. I’ve still got lots to learn, but I’m proud of myself for coming so far.

Now, as for my resolutions for 2014, let’s see how I did, shall we?

  • Breathe. Don’t stress out. Don’t procrastinate (seriously).
  • Don’t be hard on yourself. Progress is progress, no matter how slight.
  • Keep learning to be brave. You’ve got it in you. Somewhere.
  • Finish your book. This is the year.

I actually handled the breathing/stress/procrastination one quite well. I only had two freak outs this semester, and they were just pre-test jitters so overall pretty manageable. The progress one is still a work-in-progress, although I’m much better at it than I was last year. The bravery one, also a work-in-progress. And as for finishing my book–I’m working on it. Progress is progress, no matter how slight.

I’m happy with what I’ve accomplished this year, and so I think I can peacefully bid it farewell.

The New Year

But the future is upon us! This is a whole new year, with 365 new days for progress and growth and learning. And so if I am to make new resolutions, they would be the following:

  • Finish that book. It’s never too late.
  • Keep working on that bravery thing. It doesn’t happen overnight.
  • Find balance. In body and soul, mind and spirit.
  • Reflect more often, and be mindful 0f the little things.

Again, my resolutions are broad and forgiving. They are the aspects of my life that I would like to pay some attention to, and hopefully achieve by this time next year.

And as I did once before, I shall leave you with a song for inspiration. This is I Lived by OneRepublic. It’s a song that has grown in importance for me throughout the year and will hopefully have some meaning for you too.

I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

This is your year. Go out and live. Enjoy every moment, and never lose faith. Though there may be rough patches, though you may break some bones, you will prevail. You have the power to make your life beautiful.

Happy New Year.

-Alex

4 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year

  1. All your resolutions – past and present – are marvellous. I might have to nick them ;) I’m not a resolution type person, actually – I don’t think I’ve ever made on in my life. For, I intend to live the same every year, and though we are in a new time, it is all part of the same cycle. That doesn’t really make much sense… But it does to me, and that’s all that matters ;)

    Happy New Year, my friend across the sea. This is your year.

    • Haha nick away! They’re not exactly specific enough to copyright them or anything :P As much as I do like making resolutions, I quite admire your way of going about it, with the cycle. Steady. Peaceful. Rhythmic. It sounds wonderful :)

      Happy New Year to you as well. We shall both be rocking 2015!

  2. Nothing like starting a new year with a good old cold… *winks*

    I LOVE One Republic’s songs too. Good luck with finishin your book. Can’t wait to read it :3

    • Haha right?! My body is just soooo optimistic for 2015.

      Ah yeah! They’re one of those bands where there really isn’t a song of theirs I don’t like. So I think it’s pretty fitting that I chose them to ring in the new year.

      And thank you! It will be a while yet before anyone has the chance to read it, I’m afraid, but I really appreciate your excitement :D And of course best of luck with your own stories! Here’s to a year of rocking NaNoWriMo!

Make a connection

