NaNoWriMo 2014

It’s that time of year again: National Novel Writing Month!

After the insane craziness of Halloween, after the late nights and carved pumpkins and sugar rush, I look forward to the calm and peace of November. Which sounds kind of funny, because I’m supposed to be writing a novel in a month, which is generally a pretty momentous task, but nonetheless, November is my month to relax.

Because it’s the one month I spend truly writing.

I write all the other days of the year, if I can help it, but there’s a big difference between what I write normally and what I write for NaNoWriMo. Normally, I’m trying to produce something I want to publish. I’m trying to make it good. I want it to make sense. With NaNoWriMo, on the other hand, I don’t have that pressure. It’s my chance to experiment and write whatever glorious crap I want for thirty days. And it’s a chance to write something new, something different, which is always exciting.

Does anyone remember the series of short stories I very vaguely alluded to in this post? I said I had two projects planned, one being a series of short stories, the other being a Guild Wars 2 related project. Well, the series of short stories got changed along the way to become a series of short novels, and I’m writing the first one for NaNoWriMo this year. The GW2 thing… I’m bursting with excitement to reveal what it is but I’m still working on it so we shall have to wait :P

Anyways, the novel I’m writing this November is called Karatheen Hunter: By Witch’s Blood. The synopsis is as follows:

After telling her parents she was off to elope in order to win her freedom, Karatheen ended up in a whole new city, head of an inn she didn’t know how to run, and suddenly caught in a tangle with a bloodthirsty witch. Armed with a broom and stuck fighting alongside a half-blind ex-roofer, a migraine-prone cook, and the very same grunt who got her into this mess in the first place–she decided she’d rather have sucked it up and got married at home like her parents wanted.

Now she’s in the thick of it, fighting a battle she doesn’t even think is hers, because once you’ve pissed off a witch, there’s no going back. But how is she supposed to defeat a creature that owns a thousand souls when her best hope is one of those souls?

Her life has gone from pleasing her parents to deciding how many potatoes to order to fighting a monster straight from a nightmare, and Karatheen has a lot to figure out if she wants to come through this alive.

Already, it’s not what I expected it to be. I wanted it to be a kid’s book, but the characters want to have potty mouths (bad characters!). I wanted to write from third person perspective, but the narration fit better from first. It’ll be an interesting month, that’s for sure.

If you wanna read the first little bit, click here. You can also snoop around my profile and whatnot, and add me as a buddy if you’re also writing NaNoWriMo this year :) You may notice that I’m behind… I should be at 5000 words but schoolwork got in the way :/ I’m frustrated mostly because I really want to be writing instead of researching CD1 genes, but oh well. I’ll catch up on the weekend.

I hope to keep posting regularly throughout November, unlike last year where I went on a bit of a break. I shall keep you all updated with the progress.

For those doing NaNoWriMo, how’s it going? Any surprises so far? For those not doing NaNo, how’s life/blogging/writing/school/work? What’s the best/weirdest thing that’s happened to you today?

May your November be peaceful and quiet (before the Christmas rush!).

-Alex

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. Your novel sounds great! Do you want to be writing buddies? I’m there as Sabrina Grimm :D
    It’s my first year doing NaNo. So far I’ve been going terribly to increase my word count. What with family and school…
    ANYWHO XD

    • I would love to be writing buddies! Don’t even worry about a struggling word count–my first time, I spent two weeks below count before I finally managed to catch up. So I’m rooting you on! You can do it :D

Make a connection

