200 Posts and One Giant Adventure

This post, yes this one right here, marks my 200th post on this blog. To think that I actually found 200 things to talk about is quite remarkable, and to go through my old posts to compare the worst and the best… that’s an adventure all its own.

But as you likely know, I’m about to embark on a different adventure–an even bigger one.

Are you sick of hearing me talk about university yet? Yeah, me too.

But anyways, yesterday marked my first official day of classes and it was… exhausting. Almost 9 1/2 hours at school, yippee. Aren’t Mondays fantastic? The good thing is, though, that my professors all seem nice (and some are downright funny, if you can believe it), so at least I get some entertainment out of it.

But the campus–oh, I could rave about the campus for hours. I love it. There are old buildings covered in ivy…IMG_1163

…a memorial garden with the prettiest fish pond…

IMG_1169

…and even an Arboretum where I can run into the woods and become a feral forest dweller and live off the land eating mushrooms and talking to the trees for the rest of my life–y’know, if the whole university thing doesn’t work out. Gotta have my backup plan…

IMG_1176

One day I will be sitting on that bench reading or writing or maybe daydreaming.

But in all seriousness, I’ve found several beautiful places to rest or cry or do whatever I need to if school gets to be too much. It’s kind of like the campus is saying, yeah, they may force you to do horrible coursework, but I won’t let them take the Wild out of your soul.

And that in itself is enough to convince me I need to stay and see this through.

But the real purpose of this post is to tell you that I’m going off on an adventure. I… don’t really know what to expect just yet, but I fear this adventure might sometimes pull me away from Valourbörn. I’ll write as often as I can, even if it’s just for a moment, and I’ll spend as much time every day between classes as I can reading your lovely blogs so I don’t fall behind. That’s a promise.

And Halloween’s coming up! And NaNoWriMo! And I would be committing a sin if I didn’t do something on my blog for both those remarkable events! I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to do for October but I’ll talk more about that later.

And LotSF. Yeah, I know I don’t post regularly, but I’ll try to keep posting anyways. I have a whole other half of the story to tell, after all, so I can’t just leave you hanging.

Anyways… I’ve bought all my provisions (damn expensive textbooks), packed my bags, and gotten my map and compass out. I’m ready, in theory. But I’d be lying if I said I was prepared mentally. I’m still terrified. I still feel overwhelmed by how quickly this semester is going to pass. And I’m still worried I’m going to have a mental breakdown.

But how many times have I read in the adventure stories I so dearly love that being afraid before a battle is a good thing? That it keeps the mind sharp and senses alert? All the heroes I love have admitted to a moment of weakness at some point, when they were scared out of their minds that they or someone they loved would be hurt. Maybe I’m headed into battle, and maybe my fear is a good thing.

In any case, I’ll be back. Thank you guys so much for your words of support and encouragement, your incredible friendship, and your faithful readership. You guys rock, seriously :)

And you MUST keep me updated! Whether you leave a comment here on VB or you shoot me an email (valourborn@gmail.com, if you need a refresher), let me know what’s going on in your lives! I love to hear about your adventures. Sometimes I suck at responding to emails but I promise I at the very least read it right away.

Here’s to the future, as uncertain as it may be, and to all of the adventures we may embark upon.

Any big adventures planned?

May any fear you have before a battle simply be the stone that sharpens your blade.

-Alex

4 thoughts on “200 Posts and One Giant Adventure

  1. That campus looks absolutely gorgeous; I only hope my future college is the same. I wish you all the best on this adventure, and I already know you’ll do great! Don’t forget to have fun along the way; push through that fear, and go enjoy the adventure. :)
    Oh, and happy 200th post. Congrats on that too!

    • I hope so too! The nature helps balance out the academics, y’know? Thank you so much! I need to remind myself to remember the fun part, but I’ll try my best to make the most out of this adventure :)

      • Oh my god that is one gorgeous campus.
        But that’s some awful school hours – 9.5 HOURS? Holy, I’m doing an average of about 7 per day and I can barely maintain any semblance of a social life. It might just be my classes though, they toss out a ton of problem sets a week.

        Anyway, like TheShikster said, don’t forget to have fun! It’s going to be one hell of a ride:)

        • I love the campus so so much. I could explore for hours like a real adventurer. Mhm, yeah, 9.5 hours. Fortunately it’s just Mondays that are that long, and even more fortunately, I don’t have class for all those hours, but it’s still tiring being on the go for so long. The nice tradeoff is I’m done at noon on Fridays so I guess it isn’t all bad. Mm, yeah, my classes have a lot of reading, not so much problem sets. Sucks that you’re so busy though :/

          Haha yeah, a hell of a ride indeed! You try to have fun too, eh? Cool kids don’t need a social life anyways ;)

Make a connection

