Swish and Flick

This next story in the Your Story project is from The Shikster. She posts lots of reviews on books, games, movies–even her personal thoughts on the world around her–on her blog The Fangirl Report. Go check em out!

Her story about Harry Potter is one I strongly related with and I think it’s a story most all of us can understand. It’s a heartwarming, nostalgic tale of childhood heroes and the true adventure one can find through reading and gaming–enjoy!

Oh, and please do comment! I’m sure she’d love to read your thoughts on her story :)

***

Swish and Flick

“Harry Potter was more than just a book series to me.

I was the sort of person who was never happy with their life. Not because it was a bad one; I know people out there suffer daily, and I am in no way comparing my life to theirs. No, I was unhappy with my life because it was so boring, so adventure-less. Living in a small town in Michigan, a town where everyone knew each other, led to me wanting to go somewhere and to do something.

Unable to do so, I relied on books and video games to provide for this insatiable need I had. I devoured these works of art as if they were cookies, inhaled their stories.

Through books and video games, I lived.

The one thing that truly made me “live” was Harry Potter.

I’d begun reading Harry Potter at the age of five. My sister had taken me to the library, and had checked out Half-Blood Prince for me, because the other books were unavailable at the time. I’d been confused, and couldn’t understand why two Ministers had to have an urgent meeting, what Death Eaters were (I assumed, at the time, that they were some sort of animal), and why a scar was so significant. Failing to understand the story, I had to drop the book and move onto something else (this something else was Macbeth, which was read to me by my sister).

Around two years later, I managed to check out The Sorcerer’s Stone, and I fell in love. I couldn’t stop reading it, and when I finally finished it, I re-read it over and over again. I made my way through the books, and then through whatever movies were out at the time, and I became obsessed. I realize now that I went a little overboard; in fourth grade, we had to write a compare-and-contrast essay. For my essay, I compared Dumbledore and Voldemort, and drew lightning-shaped scars all over the margins. I got a B+ on that paper, only because the teacher didn’t appreciate the…masterpieces I’d drawn on the sides of the paper. Looking back on it, I’m pretty sure I deserved an A+; the scars were gorgeous, seeing as how I’d drawn them in the colors of the rainbow.

When things got tough at home, I became more reclusive than I’d ever been. The recession caused problems at home, and the stress levels went through the roof.

Hogwarts was always there.

Through thick and through thin, it provided me with an escape, with somewhere to go when things got too tough and I just wanted to sit and cry.

Now I’ve grown up. Reading the series doesn’t provide me with the same feelings it used to; the feelings of being important, of being adventurous, and of being a hero.

However, I still remember the books fondly. Harry Potter will always have a special place in my heart.

Writing this story, I wanted to tell people who my hero was.

In my opinion, Harry Potter was not only the hero of the Wizarding World.

No. Harry Potter was my hero too.

With that, I bid all of you farewell. Let us hope – quite desperately – that our Hogwarts letter is just lost in the mail, and that we’ll be getting it soon. I’ll be crossing my fingers.”

-TheShikster

One thought on “Swish and Flick

  1. Pingback: Your Story Doesn’t End Here | Valourbörn

Make a connection

