Liebster Award!

The Liebster Award

Long story short–I got nominated for the Liebster award three separate times and never passed it on! I got nominated ages ago, back in November, January, and then February, and wouldn’t be surprised if the people who nominated me forgot they did… Hehe… Anyways, what matters is that I’m here now, and boy, do I have some catching up to do!

The first nomination was from TJ Edwards, the second from LOQUACITÉ, and the third from PP1MT. They are three lovely people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting through WordPress, and they have beautiful words on their blogs that you should most definitely go and read! Thank you all for your kind nominations! :D

Here’s a recap of the rules:

  • Link to the person who nominated you (Only a kind courtesy out of thanks!)
  • Answer their questions (Mini interview!)
  • Nominate new blogs for the award (Pay it forward!)
  • Ask them 10 new questions (Your turn!)
  • Let the nominees know they have been nominated (Keep in touch and follow up!)

Because I’m doing three nominations in one, I’ll be breaking it into two parts: answers and nominations.

I’ve been asked a whole thirty questions, so here we go!

From TJ Edwards:

  1. Why did you originally start your blog and is it going to plan? I originally started Valourbörn so that I could babble to a wider audience about things I loved, specifically heroes and adventures and just the fantasy genre in general. Has it gone to plan? Not at all, but that’s a really good thing. I’ve done so much in the past year that I never anticipated, and it’s been fantastic :)
  2. Describe your “write space” (AKA where you write!) Well I do most of my writing (including my blog posts) at the dining room table. So directly in front of me is the kitchen, to my left is the family room (where the TV is located, which I can hear loud and clear from where I’m sitting), to my right is a massive framed painting of a farmstead, and behind is a glass sliding door leading to the backyard. It isn’t the comfiest or prettiest arrangement, but the dining room is where this old wooden clock is, and ever since I started writing, I’ve been doing most of it in the presence of that clock. I hope to inherit it.
  3. What is your biggest challenge with regards to writing? Usually it’s finding the right voice. I’m good with organizing my thoughts and developing my point, and I can usually find a good beginning to get the ball rolling, but it’s figuring out how I’m going to use my words that’s the hardest part. Once I find the tone that’s right for the message, though, things go a lot smoother.
  4. What are your top three vices? Cracking my knuckles (ugh, I just can’t quit!), drinking too much hot chocolate, spending too much time not writing.
  5. What is your biggest goal in life? To spend my days with animals, words, and people I love. With that, I know I’ll be happy.
  6. What was the biggest challenge you’ve had to overcome? In terms of writing, there was a period about four years ago where I hated everything I wrote. It was horrible (and a little embarrassing). I restarted the same project umpteen times before finally realizing I needed to move onto something new and just finish what I start. Once I overcame that, though, I was able to learn more and more about the art of writing and have been improving ever since.
  7. Have you ever submitted a work for publication? Well I’ve entered contests, and got “published” in a little poetry booklet for the local library. I also got a piece printed in my high school’s literary anthology, which they did once a year. Other than that, though, I haven’t submitted anything to be properly published.
  8. What is the one post or piece of writing you want everyone to read and why? This one always stands out to me. It’s a short story, but one of the longest things I’ve written on Valourbörn. It was an instance where I couldn’t bear not to write it. The idea came into my head, developed itself, and wouldn’t get out. It is also very personal–not a single emotion expressed throughout it is one I haven’t felt firsthand.
  9. You rub a magic lamp, a genie pops out and you now have three wishes, what are they? Ooh, this is not an easy one… Okay 1) that my bookshelves would be magical and never run out of space, 2) that I could walk rapidly and tirelessly so I wouldn’t have to drive everywhere, and 3) that I could have an infinite source of money so I wouldn’t have to worry about finances when trying to do something good for someone.
  10. What is your all time favourite author? Agh, um, I would say Miyuki Miyabe because my favourite book is Brave Story, but I have a certain fondness for Tolkien’s legacy and Neil Gaiman’s approach to writing. But I might have to answer Ree Soesbee. I love her a lot because she not only worked on the story for Guild Wars and Guild Wars 2, but she also wrote my favourite book in Dragonlance: The New Adventures. And she’s one of those authors who will indeed go out of her way to make a fan’s dreams come true.

From LOQUACITÉ:

  1. What’s the story behind the name of your blog? Valourbörn actually wasn’t supposed to be Valourbörn at all–it was supposed to be Dreamwöven, but when I searched it on Google, I found out that there was actually a company by that name and I didn’t want to be associated with something that wasn’t mine. So I looked for other words I thought were heroic/fantastic, like willow and courage, and settled on valour. Looking back on it, I’m glad I chose it. I don’t think there’s a better name out there.
  2. If there was one mythical or fictional creature you’d get to keep as a pet, what would it be? Definitely a unicorn. I don’t mean to sound corny or girly or anything, and I certainly don’t want a unicorn that eats rainbows and poops butterflies, but I love horses and so would love a horse that a) has some sort of magical power, and b) could have a consciousness and level of understanding close to a human’s.
  3. Tell us your quote of the day? “Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrows, it empties today of its strength.” –Corrie ten Boom
  4. What’s your biggest dream? My biggest dream is to inspire just one person with one of my books. If I do that, I’ll consider my life well spent.
  5. What’s your biggest fear? Physically, it’s drowning, but emotionally, it would be failing to help a friend, whether it’s within my control or not.
  6. Who is your favourite person in the world? Excluding all friends and family, ’cause I love them all with the same fierceness, I would have to say my former English teacher. She’s a spunky, artsy woman who’s like a mentor to me, always encouraging my writing and supporting me. I’d never be as brave with my writing as I am now without her influence.
  7. If you get the chance to be a part of a different culture, which one would it be? Ooh, that’s a toughie. I’ve always admired the Aboriginal way of life, so I’d probably choose that. There are a ton of cultures I’d love to experience though.
  8. If you were given the chance to travel the world, but not see or contact any family or friends during the trip, would you go? Yes! I don’t mind being alone and would enjoy the independence, the chance to experience the world in my own way, and I would love having all those incredible stories to take home with me.
  9. You have a magical ability or a super power, what is it and why? Shapeshifting. Definitely shapeshifting. That way, I could fly without becoming a bird, run as a horse without being permanently a horse, and have the agility of a cat without being stuck in that body.
  10. You are writing your life story, what’s the first line? “I was born beneath the willow trees…” It isn’t true, unfortunately, but it is what I feel describes me best. I’ve always found there’s a certain peace and magic beneath willows.

From The PewPew Diaries:

  1. What is the creepiest thing someone ever said to you? I can’t really think of anything creepy that’s been said to me, but a male high school teacher once winked at me, and that was pretty gross…
  2. You wake up from a coma; what is the first thing you want to know? Probably how long I’ve been out. I would want to know if I’d missed anything important and how many days I’d have to make up for with my writing.
  3. What is a MUST-SEE movie that has been swept under the radar? Disney’s John Carter. I wouldn’t necessarily call it a MUST-SEE, but it went under the radar and was rated pretty poorly, and I didn’t think it was that bad a movie. It was… strange, at first, and there were moments when I wasn’t sure if it was serious or a comedy, but it had a pretty strong female protagonist and the inner conflict that John Carter (who spent the whole movie being called Virginia) experiences was actually quite good.
  4. What is the greatest plot twist of your life? My best friend moving to a different province the summer before high school. My entire life plans were changed. I had to adjust to the thought of not facing high school with my main partner in crime, and figure out long-distance communication, and figure out how to raise funds for a plane ticket every year. Luckily though, we’ve both survived and our friendship is just as strong as ever before–heck, if not stronger.
  5. What is the laziest thing you’ve ever done? This may not be the laziest thing, per se, but it definitely was the coolest: One night I was lying in bed, the lights off and the blankets pulled up to my chin, and I really needed to blow my nose. I had a tissue box next to my bed so it was no problem to get one, but then I didn’t want to have to turn on the bright lights and get out of my warm bed to throw it out in the garbage can that was across the room. So I just threw it in the general direction of the garbage, while still lying down of course, and figured I’d just throw it away properly in the morning. When I woke up, though, I saw that I actually managed to get the tissue in the garbage can. Which was pretty ironic, since I usually can’t get it in even when I can see it.
  6. A free PC game that you think everyone should have? Freecell. I play that game to death. Haha seriously, though, I really don’t play enough PC games to answer this properly :I
  7. What is the meanest thing you’ve ever done to someone? Hm, well, it would likely be something I said. I’ve said some pretty nasty things that I still regret. But there was that one time when I was little when my sister and I were flower girls in my aunt’s wedding. We were both carrying roses and I apparently decided hers was better than mine, because I ripped it out of her hand halfway down the aisle, which of course made her cry and caused a fuss. That was pretty mean.
  8. Worst life decision? When I was maybe nine years old, this new girl came to my school and we became friends, but she was jealous of another girl I was good friends with and gave me an ultimatum–that she would stop being my friend if I didn’t stop hanging out with the other girl. I agreed to it, and then three years later she decided over summer break that she didn’t want to be friends anymore and told me so over online chat. In retrospect I realize she didn’t treat me very well even when we were friends. But the girl I initially left is a part of the group of friends I have and love now, so it turns out I really shouldn’t have left her after all.
  9. What was your “I’m too old for this sh!t” moment? This one day I was really super tired, and I laid down on my bed for a second, to rest, and I accidentally fell asleep and napped for probably an hour and a half, and when I woke up I was incredibly disoriented–I wholeheartedly believed I’d slept through the night and through the next day. So when I regained my senses and realized I hadn’t slept for that long, I thought, Ugh, I am way too old for naps. Or maybe I’m just not old enough, I dunno.
  10. What is your golden rule? Hmm… To never disregard or underestimate the value of an experience, especially with people you love.

So that’s all my answers! Stay tuned for my nominations in part 2 :D

-Alex

Make a connection

