The Power of the Semicolon

I’ve always loved the semicolon, the poor misunderstood punctuation that simply couldn’t decide what it wanted to be when it grew up. It’s a uniting force, bringing together two thoughts that can support and strengthen one another. It’s a pause but not a full stop, an opportunity to take what has been stated and expand.

For the Semicolon Project, it is this:

“A semicolon represents a sentence the author could’ve ended, but chose not to. The author is you and the sentence is your life.”

I first encountered this event yesterday, from a blog I follow called Just Me. On April 16, you’re supposed to put a semicolon on your wrist to support mental health. I wore semicolons on my wrists today in support.

Mental illness is something close to my heart. If they say mind over matter, then what do you do when your mind is the source of your grief? I like to think that that’s when your soul can save you, when all else fails.

But this is also when we need heroes, people to remind us that our lives are full of semicolons and our stories haven’t ended yet. They save us in our darkest hours. And of course, we can be our own heroes, if we have the courage to try.

May you never forget the power of the semicolon;

-Alex

NOTE: I’m reposting this today (I originally published it on the 16th) because it seemed to have disappeared from my blog entirely… I’m not sure what happened exactly but I managed to restore it. Agh, how frustrating!

2 thoughts on “The Power of the Semicolon

  1. I first heard about this last year, I believe. It’s a beautiful concept for such a dark and serious matter. How we love semicolons! I tweeted something for it at the time. I might mention it on a blog post – thanks for the reminder :)

Make a connection

