Go Do.

I still can’t believe it’s January. I still can’t believe it’s 2014.

I’ve heard a lot of people say that 2013 was a rough year for them–emotionally, financially, or otherwise. Luckily, I’ve also heard a lot of positivity as these people look forward to the new year. Personally, 2013 was a great year for me, one of the best in recent times. I did a lot of good things and learned a lot of valuable lessons about myself and life in general.

And considering 2012 was supposed to be the last year of the world as we know it (all thanks to the Mayans), I’d say we’re doing pretty good, since we’re still here today.

The part I love most about ringing in the New Year is that contagious spirit of motivation and optimism for all the great things the new year’s gonna bring. Lots of people make resolutions (some of which last longer than others). I’m one of those people. These are my resolutions:

  • Breathe. Don’t stress out. Don’t procrastinate (seriously).
  • Don’t be hard on yourself. Progress is progress, no matter how slight.
  • Keep learning to be brave. You’ve got it in you. Somewhere.
  • Finish your book. This is the year.

They’re sort of vague, sort of broad, but they’re things I want to happen this year. I want to take all the good lessons of 2013 and put them into action in 2014.

And I want to leave a bit of inspiration for you.

I love Jónsi’s music, and I think this is a good one for the new year.

“Go sing, too loud
Make your voice break- Sing it out
Go scream, do shout 
Make an earthquake…”

“Tie strings to clouds
Make your own lake – Let it flow
Throw seeds to sprout
Make your own break – Let them grow…”

“We should always know that we can do anything…”

“GO DO.”

Go do.

Adventures don’t start unless you go out and start them. Heroes aren’t made until someone makes an effort to change the world.

2014 is all yours.

Go do.

May you make your adventure everything you want it to be. May you do something great this year.

Happy New Year.

-Alex

3 thoughts on “Go Do.

  1. Well hey, 13 is unlucky for some! Obviously not for you ;) which is good! I’m glad to hear it was a good year for you :)

    I’ve never been one for New Year resolutions. I don’t think I’ve ever had one :S Personally, I like to view each year rolling seamlessly into the next, and so I don’t make too much of a fuss about it. Besides, I don’t like to look far ahead – I like to take life each day at a time. I like your resolutions though! I think it’s good they’re vague, because then you won’t get disappointed if things don’t go ‘just so’. You know? All of yours I could apply to myself though, especially the not being hard on yourself one!

    We can do it ;) This year will be great. We’ll finish our books and be happy! Woop haha :P

    • Haha, that’s true! I never thought of that. Thank goodness it’s over, then! :P

      Yeah I know what you mean–I’ve tried making specific goals before but they’ve never worked. Too much pressure :/ But I’m glad you can relate to these ones; they’re lessons I’ve been trying to learn for a very long time and I think they’re pretty good ones :)

      Haha, yeah! Three cheers for finishing books! :D

Make a connection

