Wrapping Up NaNo

So it’s been a few days after NaNoWriMo’s ended, I’ve had time to relax a little bit, and now I’m sliding back into my regular writing schedule that is less demanding than NaNo and is admittedly more fun. In fact, on Monday I did some rewrites of my manuscript for the first time in at least a month (but probably closer to two)–

–and had the BEST night of writing it I’ve had in a very long time.

Stats for nano2013As you can see from my lovely graph of stats, I had several days where my NaNo wordcount wasn’t quite up to par, especially more so towards the end. As I said in my earlier post, this was due to me realizing that I didn’t actually need to write 1667 words every day. I promised I would make it up later and I did. I reached 50 000 words by the end. But I had to write as much as I could stand every night, no matter what. I had to write something.

I realized I really liked that laid-back approach and so I applied it to my manuscript. I sat down on Monday with the intention of writing a sentence or a paragraph, knowing I hadn’t been doing well in the progress department lately. I ended up with a whole page before I got stuck. I didn’t even stop to check my email the entire time.

That was pretty incredible. It was a boost of positivity that I really needed to get myself back in the swing of editing this book.

Another thing I learned from NaNoWriMo is that I should really outline my stories. I used–no, depended on–an outline the entire course of November and found that the only time that I hated the direction the story was going in was when I didn’t have an outline to use. It makes sense–if I can’t drive anywhere without express directions on how to get there (and how to get back), then maybe I need express directions in my writing too. Anything to give me a sense of purpose.

But the last thing I learned from NaNoWriMo is that I really love blogging. It was hard to keep off WordPress, and even harder to resist the urge to stop writing my novel and start writing a post. As great as it is to write a novel and to experiment creatively within its pages, I absolutely adore the freedom of blogging, where I can write about anything without having to fit a specific plotline.

It might take me a little while to get back into the swing of blogging (I have no idea what my next post is going to be…), I’m eager to come back to writing about adventures and heroes and magic and all that fun stuff, instead of my novel and NaNoWriMo. And hey, Christmas is coming up, which means two things:

  1. The Hobbit’s almost here!
  2. There’s a lot of pure magic in the air.

It should be a very inspiring time and man, I can’t wait for Christmas break!

I hope you all had a great November and aren’t too stressed out coming into the holiday season. (Ironically, NaNoWriMo, which is usually the most stressful time of year for people who take part, was the most relaxing time of year for me.)

How are you all?

May you find rest and joy as a time of magic approaches.

-Alex

 

5 thoughts on “Wrapping Up NaNo

  1. Pingback: 50,000 Words Later: Farewell, NaNoWriMo 2013 — Blog — WordPress.com

  2. Pingback: 50,000 Words Later: Farewell, NaNoWriMo 2013 | WordPress

  3. Amazing and Thank you… @ ^_^
    kindness blossoms in your heart
    My love be your friend in all journey

Make a connection

