NaNoWriMo Update

Hey everyone, I hope you’re all doing well!

NaNoWriMo has been going very well for me. I’m on track with my wordcount, I still like the direction my story’s taking, and I’m having a lot of fun writing it. I guess I’m not surprised–it’s my fourth NaNoWriMo. I knew what to expect going into it and that has helped me out a lot. But what I am surprised with is how well I’m actually writing.

Every day when I sit down to write this story, I have enthusiasm. I can’t wait to write out a scene, and instead of measuring how much I write by how many words I get done, I’m measuring it by how many scenes I complete. I usually have one or two scenes planned out, so I sit down and write them and see how many words it gets me. Usually, it’s almost equal to or is more than what I need for NaNo. This is a big improvement from all my other years doing it, since I couldn’t stop myself from checking the wordcount every two seconds.

So that’s great that I’m not as focussed on wordcount, but that’s not the only reason I’m surprised. The real reason I’m surprised is because when I sit down to write this story, my fingers fly. I don’t stop to surf the internet, or check my emails, or decide my room really should be redecorated right this very second–I just sit down, detach myself from the rest of the world for an hour or two, and write.

I almost forgot I was capable of doing that.

When I first started writing, way back when, I didn’t have Wi-Fi so I couldn’t access the internet on my laptop. That meant that, when I sat down to write, I actually sat down and wrote. Sure, I had solitaire to distract me every once in a while, but solitaire doesn’t show you a cute video of kittens that leads to another video of kittens that leads to a video of kittens and puppies hugging that leads to… You get the point. I spent a lot less time being distracted and a lot more time just writing.

And so, because I spent so much time just writing, I fell in love with storytelling. Whenever I was doing something else, I was wishing I was writing, and when I was writing, I didn’t want to stop. I was all filled up with words and I was just bursting to spill them out on a blank page.

Then, of course, I got internet on my laptop.

I discovered that there were lots of other fun things to do besides writing. I got distracted more easily, went off on kitten-loving tangents, and spent a massively decreased amount of time writing. It sucked. A lot. Because it only got worse.

Lately, before November, writing has been such a struggle for me. I want to work on my book, but I can’t find the focus I need to write. I spend three hours writing ten words, or else I don’t write any words at all. Sometimes I don’t even try. It’s depressing, and I miss the love of storytelling that had filled me once before.

So to find it again in this NaNoWriMo story, to again experience that feeling of joy to write words, lots of words, without being distracted by anything else… It’s a really pleasant surprise. I thought I wouldn’t have anything new to learn this year and that this NaNo was going to be a “writing vacation”, but I guess I did have something to learn. Or relearn, anyways.

I’m very happy right now, and I hope that all of the focus I develop this month stays with me outside of November, when I go back to my usual writing habits. It would be fantastic. I forgot how fast my fingers can actually move when they have a purpose. I forgot how much it feels like they’re dancing. I missed it sorely.

I hope you’re enjoying your November, too. Also! I really do apologize if I miss one of your posts. When they went and changed the WordPress reader, I realized that I was having issues viewing all of the posts that have been written over the past few days. For some reason, it’s been skipping posts and I’ve been missing them completely. I hope this problem gets fixed soon, but in the meantime, I’ll try my best to ensure that I’m reading all your stuff. I love seeing what you guys have to say :)

Before I go, here’s a bit of inspiration from Stephen King.

“When asked, ‘How do you write?’
I invariably answer, ‘one word at a time.'”

So, how’s it going?

May you take each day one word at a time.

-Alex

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update

    • Oh man, I can sympathize. I spent two whole weeks in my first NaNoWriMo behind in wordcount, but somehow I still managed to catch up before the end. It’s the momentum that counts, so keep on writing! I have faith in you :) Best of luck!

Make a connection

