Carving and Costumes

I call him Vambear.

The last of the Halloween posts! Woo! This one’s about my jack-o-lantern and my costume.

I started with the Phineas and Ferb-themed pumpkins three years ago, when a friend of mine sent me a picture of a Phineas jack-o-lantern someone had carved. Inspired by the idea, I decided to replicate it. It was quite an endeavour, seeing as how I had only a power drill and a standard kitchen knife to work with, but it didn’t turn out half bad! Kind of sad when I had to put him on the curb though (and yet he kept smiling…).

Phineas Pumpkin

The next year was Ferb, of course. I also upgraded to a battery powered pumpkin saw, so the carving was much easier.

IMG_0700

This year, to complete the infamous trio, I carved a Perry pumpkin. For the other two, I’d had a reference image of other people’s designs. This year, I had to create the Perry design all out of my own imagination. It was a rather fun challenge. The only issue I had with this pumpkin was the thinness of the outer line of his eye. It got reaaaally shrivelled by the end of the night, and happy pumpkin Perry turned into sad pruney Perry. Ah well, it wasn’t too bad.

Perry Pumpkin

But the pumpkins were just the tip of the iceberg. Two years ago, I decided I would be really ambitious and start making elaborate costumes. In 2012, I chose to be Bellatrix Lestrange from Harry Potter. I had to transform this:

028

into this:

I don’t usually sew, but I pulled out all the stops creating my costume.

Notice the three pairs of scissors strewn about the table… Yeah, I was serious.

The end result? This:

IMG_0707

It was a long haul to get the costume done, but I loved every second of it. So I decided I would try again this year. Having just played The Last Story, I wanted to be Syrenne for Halloween. So I modelled my costume after my favourite set of armour for her:

Syrenne front

Again, it was a rather complicated affair, with plenty of wig modelling from my convenient skull prop, so I could cut the wig to the right length…

IMG_0894

Much tamer this time–just one pair of scissors. Although, I did have to bring out the sewing machine manual, and that got pretty intense.

IMG_0898

But in the end, I was super happy with how it turned out. Now I just have to resist the temptation to wear the costume like regular clothes…

IMG_0913

(Haha, don’t you love the farmer’s tan? :P)

So that wraps up yet another Halloween. I hope it was great for you guys, and here’s looking forward to the next one!

How was your Halloween? Did you carve a pumpkin or dress up?

May the power and the magic of the Halloween season be present in all your days.

-Alex

4 thoughts on “Carving and Costumes

  1. Good job with the pumpkin carvings! We dont celebrate halloween in my country, so I never carved a pumpkin or dressed up before. It would be fun to try those once though.

  2. What a fab array of Halloween stuff you’ve done; that’s a pretty impressive job with the Bellatrix costume too, love it!
    I have pondered getting a sewing machine, and if it means I can create my own outfits like that, I might just have to go ahead and get one :D

    • Thanks! :D

      They’re intimidating beasts, sewing machines, but it really is neat all the stuff you can do with them. A lot better than doing it by hand! :)

Make a connection

