The End of Villain Awareness Month

So, we just finished Villain Awareness Month, 31 days of celebrating the baddest of the bad, and I feel good.

Good that I did it, but good because it’s done.

I’m happy with a lot of what I did. I wrote some fun posts and enjoyed coming up with ideas to fit the theme, and I would totally do it again.

But at the same time, there was a lot I didn’t do. Partly because I didn’t have/make enough time for it, and partly because I didn’t properly prepare for it. That wasn’t much fun, so that’s why I’m glad that the month is over.

I think I’ll do this again next year, but I’ve certainly learned a lot about what works and what doesn’t. It’ll help me next October, and maybe even with other events, should I choose to try something else similar. So I mark Villain Awareness Month as a 60% success and 100% positive experience.

But I’d like to take a bit of time to bring closure to the event.

First, there’s the reasons that I did it in the first place. There is the fact that October is a notoriously evil month, because of the darkness of Halloween, but that wasn’t necessarily what made me want to do it. Here are my reasons:

  1. The Big Bad Villain Who Couldn’t–my dad has been playing a lot of Diablo III lately (a game I keep meaning to play) and every once in a while I watch him play to see what’s going on. One day, he came across some run-of-the-mill enemy and engaged it in battle. In the five seconds it took for my dad to kill the monster, it hadn’t even landed one hit on my dad’s character. Why? Because it was too busy monologuing. Yes, the villain spent the entire fight going on and on about how evil he was and how much pain he would inflict, but was mercilessly slaughtered before he’d even finished. My heart went out to the poor villain (or perhaps it was my sense of humour that reached out to him), and it got me thinking about how many villains must suffer a similar fate.
  2. Laugh Him Down to Size–I don’t condone evil. I don’t approve of cruelty, bullying, or violence against the weak. I don’t support villains, but I recognize their value as the polar opposite to the light–the necessary shadow that makes the brightness seem so much stronger. Do I think that they should be celebrated in real life, all the evil people who have killed real innocents and oppressed living victims? Not at all. But I think that if we want to have the ability to fight against the world’s real evils, then we need to have the right mindset. We have to be able to laugh at villains.

The thing is, evil can be absolutely terrifying, no doubt about it. When we’re scared, we sometimes forget our power and our ability to fight against evil because we’re so overwhelmed by despair. We see the real-life villains in our society and don’t see how we can possibly fight them. But by being able to laugh at fictional villains, to mock them and poke fun at the evil things they do, we regain some of that power and hope. We realize that we can reduce the wickedest of criminals into the butt of a joke and it makes us feel stronger, more capable. Even if we don’t necessarily laugh at the evil villains who arise in the real world, I believe there’s still merit in being able to laugh at the fictional ones.

So that’s why I decided to start this project in the first place, and why most of my posts revolve around humour.

I’d like to bring this project back next year, bigger and better, and I’d love all of the feedback you could give me. Think something could be improved? Was I missing something you wish you could’ve seen? Let me know!

And I’d like to do more villain showdowns next year, because there are a lot more than fifteen worthy villains in the world. I myself had tons of runners up who were close to being included but didn’t quite make the cut. They include:

  • Smaug
  • Loki
  • Ganondorf
  • Amon
  • Shiro
  • Pitch
  • The Iceberg that sank the Titanic

Which villains would you love to see?

Hopefully, by planning more ahead next year, I can make Villain Awareness Month even better than before. I’m already looking forward to it!

What was your favourite part about Villain Awareness Month?

May you look forward to events to come, and always find ways to improve.

-Alex

6 thoughts on “The End of Villain Awareness Month

  1. Villain Awareness Month! Eeek! :D I loved it that you included Amon (Legend of Korra, right? I’m a HUGE avatar fan!!!) and the iceberg that sank Titanic being counted as a villain made me giggle.
    Great post! :)

Make a connection

