NaNoWriMo: the Adventure Begins!

Hey guys!

No Halloween posts for today, but that’s because I have an exciting announcement to make: NaNoWriMo begins today!

NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month, and it’s an online challenge where writers all over the world try to write 50 000 words in 30 days. This is my fourth year doing NaNo and I love that it’s a chance for me to temporarily take a break from the big writing projects I’m working on and start something new, short, and fun for a month, to get the imagination going. And geez, if it wasn’t for NaNoWriMo, I wouldn’t have ever gotten over my fear of finishing novels.

Anyways, as exciting as this news is, it also comes with a somewhat sad consequence. This year, I’m trying to do NaNo and edit my already finished manuscript at the same time. I’ve been dying to get this manuscript polished up and done, so it’s a huge priority for me and not something I want to put on the back burner for a month (I kind of already did that in October). Problem is, I won’t have nearly enough time to do everything I want to, so something has to go.

That something is going to be blogging.

I can spend 1-2 hours writing out a good blog post, and that’s a lot of time that could be contributed to NaNoWriMo instead. So for the month of November, I’m probably going to become pretty scarce on Valourbörn. I won’t be posting as many lengthy posts as I usually do unless I have spare time.

That being said, I won’t be totally gone. I’ll still check in every day to read new posts from blogs I follow and drop a comment here and there, and I’ll still reply to all the comments you guys leave here. And I’ll probably come on to give a NaNoWriMo update or two (maybe share an excerpt, if the mood strikes), or post an inspirational quote. And of course I still have those Halloween posts I promised, which will go up the next few days.

I’ll probably have to actually try to stay off WordPress–I love blogging, but I have to admit it consumes a lot of time. This November, I have a goal to spend more time (at least an hour) each evening doing something that doesn’t involve my laptop. Like drawing, for example–I love to draw, but I never leave time for it. I’d like to get away from the keyboard more frequently and enjoy the other things I usually neglect.

So I apologize for the news, but I promise I’ll be back to regular posting speed come December! And hopefully I’ll have a finished novel to show off too :D

Are any of you doing NaNoWriMo too? How’d your first day go?

I’ll be back tomorrow with Halloween stuff for sure. See you then!

What are your November plans?

May you enter this November adventure, whatever it may be, with peace of mind and strength of spirit.

-Alex

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: the Adventure Begins!

  1. Godspeed, keep us updated! I’m throwing my hat in for NaNo this year too. I’ve never made the goal, but I like blogging has helped my writing habits and this year might be different!

Make a connection

