Villain Showdown: Bozo, Batty, Bonkers

Some villains plan out their schemes carefully, calculating odds of success, formulating the best possible tactics for crushing their enemies and achieving their goals. But some villains don’t use this logical approach. They go crazy, abandoning reason and using unpredictability to surprise foes and overcome all barriers.

These villains are Bozo, Batty, Bonkers.

***

Ghirahim (Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword)

Some people say that I’m just a pawn, a useless tool because I’m the spirit of a sword–they’re WRONG! I’m Lord Ghirahim! I’m all-powerful! And I’m fabulous.

No one can match my perfection. Have you seen the clothes I wear? Have you seen the way I style my hair? I’m setting trends–setting a bar so high, no mortal could ever hope to reach it! I am the face of beauty, and anyone who disagrees will be cut into little tiny pieces, millions of itty bitty screaming pieces! I am PERFECT!

But I’m a man of standards, you know. I can be civil, if you don’t cross me! I’m not someone to be played with. I am the Demon Lord–I can destroy you.

And I am a man of great skill.  A master of torture, connoisseur of high fashion, a spectacular dancer, and a performer of the more unique arts. You should see what I can do with my grotesquely long tongue, hmmmm?

So vote for me! I’m clearly the right choice, if you want to keep your life!

Jirall (The Last Story)

I tried to be a good man, I truly did, but did they listen? Did they hear my cries? My pleading for help? No! No, no, no–they threw me in jail, for a crime I didn’t commit! They left me to rot–me! A nobleman of the highest reputation! No one listened, no one cared!

They took away my status, my wealth, my reputation, my fiance! They took away everything beautiful, everything precious I had! Did it stop me? No, no–I vowed to show them. I would prove myself. I would get back what was rightfully MINE!

Ohhh, but Zael–Zael, he hated me, he wanted to ruin me, so I tried to ruin him. I tried… I tried.

I tried to be happy. I wanted HAPPINESS!

There are no happy endings, no, but I won’t stop. I’ll kill them–kill Zael! I will be happy!

I’m not a bad man. I’m a good man–a gentleman. But they won’t listen to me. I have to make them listen to me. But you’ll listen to me, won’t you? You’ll vote for me! I don’t want to kill you… I just want to be happy…

Jim Moriarty (BBC’s Sherlock)

I am the world’s only consulting criminal. I’ve killed my fair share of people, sure, but people die. That’s what people DO!

I like to play games. Lots of games, for my own amusement. Dangerous games–the higher the stakes, the more fun we’ll have. Care to gamble someone else’s life? How about your own? Those are the games I like to play, and you don’t have a choice but to play along.

Play or people will DIE!

I’m unpredictable. You can’t see my next move, because I’m oh so changeable. And I like to SCREAM at you, in the middle of my sentences. To make sure you’re PAYING ATTENTION!

People will pay attention to me. They will know my name, and they’ll tremble. 

Everything you think you know, I can make false. I’ll make you question everything. I can manipulate your thoughts, your beliefs. You know NOTHING! But you do know that you should vote for me… This isn’t a game. Vote or DIE!

***

I particularly like insane villains, to be honest. I love the thrill that comes from their unpredictability–not knowing what they’ll do next or what twisted crimes they’ll come up with. They also have that creepy factor that makes confrontations with them so much more bone-chilling. The more psycho the villain is, the more I appreciate him.

Please note, with this round and with all others, that there are going to be some villains in the showdowns that I’m not very familiar with. I’m not an expert, and you’ll have to forgive me for it. That being said–if you know something that I didn’t include, feel free to share in the comments!

Now then–onto the voting! Here’s how it’ll work:

  • Voting will be open for all rounds until 3:00 PM EDT* on Saturday October 26th. (here’s a time zone converter if you need it)
  • You can vote as many times as you’d like between then and now, for as many villains as you’d like. Show your support and bring some friends!
  • Feel free to comment on your choice and try to win votes for your favourite baddie.
  • Don’t recognize the villains in this round? No problem–feel free to vote for the coolest picture or best description. Just have fun with it!

So get casting your votes and may the best villain win!

-Alex

*You may have noticed that I changed the voting close time on Saturday to three hours earlier. After looking at my Saturday schedule, I realized that it was poor planning on my part to put the close time so late. Sorry about that!

6 thoughts on “Villain Showdown: Bozo, Batty, Bonkers

  1. ‘Sherlock’ is just too fantastic for words. BBC dramas are without a doubt the best out there ;) My friend and I actually obsess over this series like you wouldn’t believe, and we love Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman more than words can say haha! Moriarty is just a total, total nut job. Quite disturbing, really

    • Also, I don’t know who he is, but I found Jirall quite sad ): Definitely sounds quite insane, but it’s sad insanity (if that’s even possible). The events of his life have corrupted him to be a villain, and that’s always a sad story if you ask me

    • Ah, Sherlock. I’m a recent fan, thanks to my friend. Martin Freeman is my favourite actor of all time, and when you pair him with Cumberbatch, it really is something spectacular. And Moriarty gave me shivers the whole time–I love him as a villain!

  2. My vote it definitely for Ghirahim for he ends up becoming a rather interesting villain. From the get go he’s a wake up call for the hero, and even at the end he proves to be scarily competent despite his flamboyance. He may not stop you at every turn, but he’s still good at what he does.

    • Ah, yes–the fights with him were always freaky because he was so powerful, yet seemed like he should be so pathetic. He’s very good indeed at what he does!

Make a connection

