Villain Showdown: Reigning in Renown

There are some villains who are simply masters of evil. Their plans are enormous–take over the world kind of calibre–and they mow down armies and heroes alike in their quest for domination. They’re bloodthirsty, cruel, heartless, and truly diabolical. These vile villains are darn good at what they do, and because of it, they’re pretty famous.

These villains are Reigning in Renown.

***

Sauron (Lord of the Rings)

The Dark Lord of Mordor

Many people call me the Lord of the Rings, or the Dark Lord of Mordor. I’ve been an evil presence in Middle Earth for a very, very, very long time, always popping up at the most inconvenient of moments. I’ve made many wars and slaughtered many people–with barely any effort at all. I have a particular dislike for elves, but really, they started it.

I put most of my power into jewellery–lots of rings that I gave as gifts to the  elves, dwarves, and humans. They didn’t like their gifts, though, so I had to take them back. But that was okay–I kept one special ring just for me so that I would always be all-powerful.

I usually appear as a gigantic warlord, raining death and doom upon my enemies, or as a big floating eyeball. You should vote for me because I will give you expensive jewellery as gifts, I will watch over you very carefully from my tower in Mordor, and I will write wonderful poems for you. What, you didn’t know I was a poet? Well, sure–I wrote this:

“One Ring to rule them all,

One Ring to find them,

One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.”

Now cast your votes for me, you fools, so that Sauron the mighty shall once again rule!

Darth Vader (Star Wars)

I tried the “good guy” thing for a while, but in the end, found that the dark side was much more satisfying. Since then, I’ve killed plenty of Jedis who have tried to stop me from ruling the entire Galaxy.

I’m not really human, not anymore, and I’m now a cyborg creation held together by machinery. It makes me much more capable than before, you know, when I had a weak fleshy body. And I’ll have you know that I don’t have a breathing issue–it’s the mask.

I’ve had issues in my past with limbs being cut off, so I decided to pass on the favour to my favourite son, Luke Skywalker. And do you want to know just how evil I am? Well, right after I severed his right hand from his arm, I told him that I, the vilest villain the galaxy has ever known, am his father. He was driven so mad, he jumped into a reactor core. How’s that for evil?

I also killed my former mentor… without thinking twice. Oh, and there was that one time that I froze than Han Solo guy in carbonite. Good times.

Vote for me because I can give you power–more power than you’ve ever known. All you have to do is join the dark side… and no, we don’t have cookies.

Lord Voldemort (Harry Potter)

You may know me better as “You-Know-Who” or “He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.” People are so afraid of me, they refuse even to utter my evil name.

I gave up all vestiges of humanity long ago, in exchange for a better life–a more powerful life. My dream? To be immortal, to be the most powerful wizard alive, to kill Harry Potter, and to put filthy Muggles in their proper place.

Some have criticized me for being unable to kill a helpless infant, but I do not believe that my inability to kill Harry Potter was a sign of weakness. It was a challenge–I was just building up a worthy opponent to challenge me, so that I could show my true strength to the world. Everyone knows I could have killed him if I wanted to.

I am clearly an intelligent mind, for I strategically divided my soul into lots of little pieces and scattered them all over, so that I wouldn’t be as easy to kill. The world should truly have a clear thinker as its ruler, don’t you agree? And if I ruled the world, I would create a society in which no one feels ugly–for nobody can possibly be any uglier than me.

If you are a wizard and you vote for me, I shall generously spare you your life. But if you are a Muggle and can’t use magic… voting for me will give you enough time to say goodbye to your loved ones, at least. So choose wisely.

***

There you have our first three competitors! I’m starting it off with three pretty big baddies, so hopefully you recognize some faces. Please note, with this round and with all others, that there are going to be some villains in the showdowns that I’m not very familiar with. (For example, I’ve watched only one Star Wars movie. I know very little about Darth Vader, and all I do know, I researched.) So I’m not an expert, and you’ll have to forgive me for it. That being said–if you know something that I didn’t include, feel free to share in the comments!

Now then–onto the voting! Here’s how it’ll work:

  • Voting will be open for all rounds until 3:00 PM EDT on Saturday October 26th. (here’s a time zone converter if you need it)
  • You can vote as many times as you’d like between then and now, for as many villains as you’d like. Show your support and bring some friends!
  • Feel free to comment on your choice and try to win votes for your favourite baddie.
  • Don’t recognize the villains in this round? No problem–feel free to vote for the coolest picture or best description. Just have fun with it!

So get casting your votes and may the best villain win!

-Alex

17 thoughts on “Villain Showdown: Reigning in Renown

      • Sauron actually feels most “scary” to me…I think because we don’t know him, he is and evil presence…there is no room for compassion. Where as Voldemort was once Tom Riddle. We can understand what made him become who he is, we know his weaknesses and what it would take to defeat him. So…If i had to “defeat” one of them…I’d choose Voldemort…I don’t wouldn’t know where to start in defeating Sauron. it would feel like such a daunting task. Although I have to say, in our real fight against evil here in the world…Sauron is a pretty accurate representation of what we are up against.

        ~Aspen

        • I love how you broke that down. Now that you mention it, I can see that you’re absolutely right. The villains who have that personal connection really don’t seem as bad as those whom we can’t possibly hope to understand, do they? And yeah–it does feel like a Sauron-sized force represents the evil in the world :S

          • Yeah, the personal connection is really valuable. In fact this connection/understanding is what allows us the opportunity to remember that those in our lives who seem like “villains” may not be. There is still that opportunity for redemption.

            It’s that possibility for redemption and understanding of their scars that make these characters so intriguing. I think that is what makes characters like Snape, Hook (from Once), superheros, and so many more, so intriguing to us.

            However, I do think that when Tom Riddle gave up his name/humanity and became Voldemort that was when he became a true villain…he no longer had hope for redemption/relationship/connection with others.

            ~Aspen

          • That possibility for redemption is such a fascinating trait–it can create excellent tension in any story, as there is that possibility that the evil can be reversed and the inner goodness once more expressed.

            I agree about Voldemort. I don’t think anyone can believe that he has any possibility of returning to humanity. He gave it up and turned his back to it, and that makes him truly terrifying as a villain.

          • Redemption really does create a fascinating tension. I have been contemplating this a lot lately…not sure if it is a “girl thing” or not but characters who are trying for redemption, even when covered with scars, are really…attractive/intriguing/admirable.

            ~Aspen

          • Hm, I couldn’t say if it was a girl thing or not (I’m kind of biased :P) but I agree with you. For me, it’s because redemption and scars speak of some sort of dramatic/emotional back story, and that’s what I love most in characters.

          • I agree, the back story, what is going on behind the scenes, is what I love most about stories as well. :)

            ~Aspen

  1. Sauron’s pretty boring, just menacing! Vader and Voldemort both have more depth, but I have to pick Vader because his visual style is so much cooler. That’s a super creepy picture of Voldemort, though…

  2. Sauron! So totally not biased with my love of Lord of the Rings or anything ;) Although, I have to say, I think Darth Vader’s a pretty good baddie (that oxymoron always makes me smile). His story has way more emotional depth than the others, making his action more poignant in my opinion. So I gave him a vote too!

Make a connection

