Halloween on TV

Once October 1st hits, I’m not the only one who launches right into Halloween mode. TV programming joins in and starts showing all their Halloween-themed episodes and shows as soon as possible, so they can get in the maximum amount of reruns before the 31st. But hey, that’s fine with me!

Here are some shows I’m looking forward to/am already enjoying this Halloween season!

Pumpkin Wars:

The guys from Property Brothers went to two competing cities, Highwood and Keene, to participate in their local pumpkin festivals and try to break a Guinness World Record. With more than 60, 000 pumpkins that have to be carved, stacked, and lit, it’s full of jack-o’-lantern fun, and really impressive too!

Pumpkin Wars in Keene

Halloween Wars:

Yet more Halloween competition, as this four-part series brings five teams head-to-head as they try to create the ghastliest cake and pumpkin displays. The teams are made up of professional cake decorators, pumpkin carvers, and candy makers who all combine their skills to make true masterpieces. Their work is absolutely astonishing!

 

Phineas and Ferb:

They haven’t all aired yet, but PnF is coming out with three new Halloween episodes this year! Druselsteinoween, Face Your Fear, and Terrifying Tri-State Trilogy of Terror are the new ones, and of course they’ll be playing reruns of the old episodes, One Good Scare Ought to Do It! and The Curse of Candace being two of my favourites. I’ve always loved a good PnF Halloween, and really love that they go to the effort of making new episodes each year.

And don’t forget the movies! I’m more into the family-type Halloween movies (horror doesn’t do much for me) and so here are a couple that I can’t wait to watch.

Halloweentown:

If Halloweentown actually exists, I want to go there. And live there. There are four movies in the series, and I have many a fond memory of watching them all. The story revolves around a fantastic world where it’s Halloween all year round. Full of ghoulish creatures, witchcraft, and a skeleton cab driver, it’s exactly what I want to watch in a Halloween movie.

Hocus Pocus:

This is a must-watch for me. It’s got witches, a black cat, spells and potions and ancient curses–and plenty of humour too. It’s another movie that has all my Halloween essentials rolled into one. Plus, with a couple of kids as the protagonists, it works well as a family movie.

There are a lot of great Halloween shows and movies out there, and I love how fiercely TV programming embraces the Halloween spirit–it gives me lots to watch!

What shows or movies do you watch in October?

May you find lots of inspiration and spookiness in the shows you watch this season.

-Alex

***

Have any Halloween-related posts you’d like to share? Send me a link in the comments or at valourborn@gmail.com–I’d love to check it out!

8 thoughts on “Halloween on TV

  1. Halloween is such a foreign concept to me, and for most Britons, I imagine! We just do not celebrate it over here – or, at least nothing like in North America. I’m not sure what Canada is like with it, but I know America goes crazy about Halloween! So strange.

    Although, saying that, I happened to watch Hocus Pocus the other night! aha (I forgot how irritating I find that little girl). But, I only watched it to prepare myself, in a way (plus I was bored one night). I’m leaving the country soon, and I’ll just so happen to be in the USA for Halloween!! It’s going to be mental. I think my brain might explode from the sheer unfamiliarity of it all. It’s going to be such an interesting experience.

    • Canada’s pretty big on Halloween too, though I don’t imagine it’s nearly the same magnitude as the US. It’s interesting to hear that it’s such a foreign concept to you–it’s one of those things I don’t think much about, so it’s great to hear the perspective from another part of the world.

      Haha, that’ll be interesting for you then! Well, it’s good that you’re preparing yourself. I hope you have lots of fun and keep your brain intact for the duration of the trip :P

      • It’s definitely interesting to get different perspectives from different parts of the world! It is a very positive thing about the internet.

        It most certainly will be interesting. Incredibly much so. Ha! I hope so too! I’m taking a video camera to record the strange wonders of it, because I’ll probably be too dazed to take it all in myself!

        • Mhm, it is. There’s a whole world at your fingertips, and it always amazes and delights me.

          Haha, sounds like a plan! Hopefully you won’t be too dazed to have a good time ;D

  2. I’m in the UK and I always do a Halloween party now, and there’s always a Halloween street festival in the small town we live in. Most shops sell at least a handful Halloween stuff, although what’s available in the US is far superior.
    I can feel Halloween growing into a more popular thing each year – I’m confident it will be as big as the US in 10 – 15 years.

Make a connection

