A Summertime Hero

A Cherry Coke ice cream float

Well, it’s official. Summer’s here, and not a moment too soon. To kick it off, I did the only thing that seemed right–I made myself a Cherry Coke ice cream float. Why? Well, there’s a bit of a story behind it.

Two years ago, I had a discouraging summer. I did plenty of fun things and had an all-around good time, but at the end of it, I didn’t feel very accomplished. I’d had a huge list of things I wanted to get done but when I saw that barely any of them were actually completed by the end, I felt as though I’d wasted my free time. But that was also the summer I discovered Phineas and Ferb.

I’ve mentioned before that Phineas and Ferb is one of my favourite TV shows. When it first came out in 2008, I had no interest in it. It took three years for me to finally sit down and watch it, and it was pretty much love at first sight. I fell in love with the humour, ingenuity, and the charisma of the characters, and it’s been a steady adoration ever since.

The show inspired me to make the most of my summer, to make every day special. Phineas and Ferb do something spectacular every day–building a roller coaster, creating a mega water slide, flying around the world in a handmade jet–and I wanted to do the same. I wanted to make each day important and remarkable. I wanted to accomplish something great.

At first, I didn’t know how to do that. I was aiming too high, pushing myself to do fifteen things in one day when I didn’t have the time or energy. But after watching hours and hours of Phineas and Ferb, it finally clicked. I don’t need to do fifteen things in one day to be accomplished. I just need to do one really great thing, one single thing that will be fun and exciting, to make my day a success. Ever since, I’ve been trying to make sure that I do something positive every single day, no matter how small it may be.

Phin edit

You see, that’s a lesson I couldn’t have learned without Phineas. Ferb will always be my favourite character, but Phineas is the one who became my hero. He’s compassionate, kind, happy-go-lucky, and imaginative, but his best feature in my opinion is his belief in potential. He believes in the potential of imagination, and in the potential that everyone has to make every day the best day ever. It was that belief that inspired me to keep looking, to find a way to make every day count without pushing myself to do something I didn’t enjoy. Phineas reminded me that there are endless possibilities, if you can simply dare to imagine.

I think the two most important lessons I’ve learned from him are these: 1) Carpe diem–seize the day, and 2) Summer belongs to you. Don’t wait for tomorrow. Do what you can to make today extra special. And don’t ever forget that summer is what you make of it. Every day is what you make of it. They’re lessons I always try to remember, especially now that summer is here again. This summer, I’m going to focus on seizing the day and making summer what I want it to be.

I’ve had plenty of other heroes before Phineas, and many after him as well, but very few have touched my life the same way he has. It might seem crazy to think that a cartoon character could have such an influence, but it’s true. I don’t think I would be enjoying every day quite as much if I hadn’t been guided by the best of the best.

Phineas is my hero because he’s taught me to believe in potential and endless possibilities. He’s taught me to seize the day and carpe diem. He is born of valour because he’s had the boldness to take hold of each day and make it into whatever he wants it to become.

So what does this have to do with ice cream floats? Well, one of my favourite Phineas and Ferb songs is “Summer (Where Do We Begin?)”. It’s a song all about how summer is made up of simple things, like garden hoses and grassy hills. It has helped inspire me to make simpler goals, to focus less on accomplishing tasks and more on enjoying the simple pleasures that summer has to offer. In that song, one of the lines says that summer is ice cream cones and cherry soda dripping down your chin. So I decided to combine Cherry Coke and ice cream as my celebration of summer’s arrival. I’m looking forward to seeing where each new day will take me. Welcome summertime!

What remarkable thing did you do today?

May you always carpe diem and have the boldness to imagine.

-Alex

Make a connection

