Language of the Small Folk

Today, my adventure begins.

May I introduce Language of the Small Folk, which is my adventure and quest to pay more attention to the little things in life. I’ve realized that I’m not the kind of adventurer who wants to explore the entire world–I’m the kind of adventurer who just wants to explore the nooks and crannies of the world around me. And something I’ve found in these nooks and crannies is the Small Folk.

You might think of Small Folk as fairies, sprites, or imps, but the Small Folk don’t have to be small. Trolls, unicorns–even dragons–are all a part of the Small Folk. Any sort of creature in our world which spends most of its life unseen, hidden in forests and in sewers, which can only be observed by those who pay attention to them, are classified as one of the Small Folk.

My quest is now to discover their world, and to learn their language. I want to know what they have to say. I want to see things from their perspective. Most of all, I want to let them be a part of my life. For once you’ve seen the Small Folk, you start to see the magic all around.

It’s when you call out with a silent voice that those who do not speak will respond. It is then that you will see the life where once there was none.

It all started with a walk in the forest. There, within the shelter of the trees, did I meet the Small Folk for the first time. There, by returning to the childlike wonder I had years ago, by making the woods as comfortable as my home, I once more joined the magic I’d been missing. Now, this is my story.

***

I expect to have the first chapter of my story up for you tomorrow, or Thursday at the latest. To those who have decided to join me in my adventure, this is where you can start, if you’re ready. Do something adventurous. Do something you did when you were a kid, when your sense of adventure was at its peak. Do something that will allow you to become quiet, to listen to the world around you. Most of all, keep your eyes open–your adventure is out there.

I wish the best of luck to you if you’re embarking on your own adventure, and I warmly welcome those of you who are just along for the ride. And so, until next we meet, keep your sense of adventure sharp and your heroic spirit ready.

Have you met any Small Folk lately?

May adventure never be far, and the Small Folk always be watching.

-Alex

2 thoughts on “Language of the Small Folk

  1. In my experience there is nothing more magical than watching the forest wake up in front of you during an early morning hunt, and the same magic happens at dusk, when the nite creatures come out to play, it truly in fantastic.

    Uncle Adam

    • Forests have an eerie power that really is remarkable to experience. I can only imagine what it must be like for you to be there in the silence before the hunt, a part of the waking forest. It sounds incredible, and magical indeed :D

Make a connection

