“I will never be good, and that’s not bad”

I just recently watched the movie Wreck-It Ralph and fell in love with the “Bad Guy Affirmation” motto: “I am bad, and that’s good. I will never be good, and that’s not bad. There’s no one I’d rather be than me.” Not only is it a fantastic way of saying, “I’m a villain,” it’s also a very true statement about what a real villain is.

Villains are nasty. They’re cruel and ruthless and evil, and that’s the way they’re supposed to be. They destroy everything the hero is fighting for–hope, innocence, love–and they don’t let anything or anyone stand in their way. Villains are hated for a reason, and that’s exactly why Ralph wanted to be a hero. He wanted to get away from the hate and become someone people could love.

Throughout the whole movie, that’s what he tries to accomplish. He tries to prove that, even though he’s the bad guy, he can still be a hero. And he proves it. He ends up the real hero of the story, the saviour of the day, even though he’s a villain. It makes his life better, people stop hating him, and he is accepted as a good guy.

Funny thing is, I love villains, and I think a lot of other people do too.

Sure, the heroes are the ones who save everyone, who are our role models, and who inspire us with courage and bravery, but a story about just a hero would be boring. You need a villain to make it a story worth experiencing. They’re the source of the danger, excitement, and suspense–three key factors in any tale of adventure. They’re the reason the hero fights.

Villains make the world go round, and heroes are just the ones who keep it that way.

Could you imagine if the villain suddenly disappeared from your favourite story? Or if the villain started acted nice and started apologizing for his or her heinous acts? For that matter, how would the hero look if he started fighting a villain who hadn’t actually done anything wrong? Heroes can’t exist without villains, and for that reason alone, I think people should give villains the credit they deserve.

While I think it was a fitting ending to Wreck-It Ralph to have Ralph be the hero of the story, I’m also happy that he doesn’t give up being the bad guy. The villains are important. Life sucks with them, but life sucks more without them.

To quote Phineas and Ferb, “A hero is a hero, but everybody loves a great villain.”

I tip my hat to all villains for the hard work they do, because they provide me with the inspiration that comes from adventures. They fuel my favourite heroes to fight by giving them a cause and purpose. Villains are pretty awesome.

Who are some of your favourite villains? What sorts of evil schemes have they come up with?

May you always have villains in your life, no matter what form they take, so that you always have a reason to fight.

-Alex

One thought on ““I will never be good, and that’s not bad”

Make a connection

