Ordinary Adventures–The Heart of Valourbörn

I’m a dreamer.

A romantic. An adventurer. A student of magic.

Every day, I live through legends. I find ways to outsmart the worst villains or overpower the ugliest trolls. Everyone knows my name. Everyone fears my name. I’m brave and bold and smart, and everything I do is the start of a fantastic new saga.

At least, that’s the way I look at it.

But I’ll tell you a secret: I’ve never confronted a dangerous villain or seen a real-life troll. Not many people actually know my name, and I’m sure they wouldn’t fear it if they heard it. I’m a terrified mess in most social situations (especially on the telephone), I’m only bold when I’m writing, and my intelligence doesn’t usually last beyond books. And as far as I know, no one’s ever written a saga about that time I brushed my teeth. Am I an adventurer? Well, no. Am I a hero? Ah… no. Have I ever slain a dragon? Yeah–no.

Basically, I fail every Adventure Test out there. I’m a true flunky.

BUT!

Another secret: I don’t care. I don’t let it bother me. I keep pretending that I am an adventurer, because why can’t I be? Why can’t that pile of homework be a pile of quests? Why can’t a run on the treadmill be a desperate chase through the forest, all because I stole a magic jewel from a centaur tribe? Why can’t I be something more than I am? As long as I have a creative, imagining brain in my head, I’m going to use it. I’m going to be an adventurer.

And so we have reached the heart of this blog, of Valourbörn herself. This is where we make adventures happen. This is where we share the adventures around us. This is where we make ourselves the adventurers we believe we can be.

I encourage you to join the adventure with me. I plan to go long distances and do great things in this blog, and I wouldn’t mind a little company and help along the way. Every good adventurer knows the value of companionship.

What adventures have you experienced in your life, small or large? Is there something adventurous you do every day? Or is there something you would like to do to make life a little more exciting?

May you chase adventure always to the farthest reaches of its kingdom.

-Alex

4 thoughts on “Ordinary Adventures–The Heart of Valourbörn

  1. Alex-thanks again for your kind words. I loved reading about you…the adventurer. I can’t wait to see where you go and where this fabulous adventure of life takes you. Enjoy the ride!! -Heather

Make a connection

